loading

Mission Statement

In a world where scepticism against the idea of a unified Europe is growing, we hold on to our belief that it is culture and the arts which enable us to live together, to celebrate unity in all our diversity. The people of the Rhine Valley and the Bregenzerwald region live in a polycentric, partly densely populated part of the world; in the heart of Europe, yet surrounded by borders – national borders, geographical demarcations and at times also barriers in people’s minds.

Preparing to become the 2024 European Capital of Culture, we want to provide space for people from here and all Europe to experiment with new perspectives, mindsets and approaches. We invite everyone to join us in our dream of a good life for everyone in their individuality and for all of us collectively, and we want to create opportunities for finding identity in diversity.

Due to the history and geographical location of their native region, the people of Vorarlberg have practised for a long time to live between neighbours big and small, and to make the best of their surroundings with courage, vitality and innovative spirit. Applying to become the 2024 European Capital of Culture gives us the opportunity to strengthen our awareness of these characteristics, to share our experiences in our corner of the world with the rest of Europe and to encourage cross-border thinking and acting today and for generations to come.

X

loading

Mission Statement

 
In einer Welt, in der das „Projekt Europa“ zunehmend in Frage gestellt wird, glauben wir, dass Kunst und Kultur dem entgegenwirken können und stellen uns eine Welt vor, in der das Miteinander in der Vielfalt gelebt wird. Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger aus dem Vorarlberger Rheintal und dem Bregenzerwald bilden einen polyzentrischen Ballungsraum im Herzen Europas, umgeben von Grenzen – nationalen, geographischen, aber auch gedanklichen.

Auf dem Weg zur Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt 2024 bieten wir den Menschen hier und in Europa einen experimentellen Raum für neue Denkweisen, Perspektiven und Lösungsansätze. Wir laden dazu ein, individuell und in der Gemeinschaft ein gutes (Zusammen-)Leben zu träumen und zu gestalten, mit der Chance, Identität in der Vielfalt zu finden.

In dieser Region wurde nicht zuletzt wegen der Geschichte und der geographischen Lage Fähigkeiten entwickelt, die es heute ermöglichen, im Spannungsfeld zwischen Groß und Klein mutig, lebendig und innovativ zu agieren. Die Bewerbung zur Europäischen Kulturhauptstadt 2024 ist die Chance, uns diese Werte wieder bewusst zu machen, sie zu stärken und unsere Erfahrungen im Kleinen mit Europa zu teilen. So setzen wir uns ein für ein grenzübergreifendes Denken und Handeln, heute und für die kommenden Generationen.

X